Blog posts


November 13, 2013

Update on FAI's Microfinance "Influencers" Project


A few weeks ago, we asked our readers to submit nominations for the people who are most influential when it comes to ideas about financial services for poor communities. We’ve had quite a bit of response and so far have generated the follow list of nominees:

  • Bindu Ananth, President of IFMR Trust
  • Abhijit Banerjee, Co-author of Poor Economics and Professor of Economics at MIT
  • Ela Bhatt, Founder of the Self-Employed Women's Association of India (SEWA)
  • Ms. Jeroo Billimoria, Founder of  Aflatoun, Child Savings International, and Child & Youth Finance International (CYFI)
  • Central bank of a country (i.e. RBI)
  • Carlos Danel, Co-founder of Compartamos Banco
  • Esther Duflo, Director of J-PAL Global, Co-author of Poor Economics, and Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Development Economics at MIT
  • Malcolm Harper, Chairman of M-CRIL and Emeritus Professor at the Cranfield School of Management
  • Claudio Gonzalez Vega, Professor Emeritus at The Ohio State University
  • Carlos Labarthe, Co-founder Compartamos Banco
  • Ignacio Mas, Senior Fellow at the Fletcher School's Center for Emerging Market Enterprises at Tufts University, Senior Research Fellow at the University of Oxford, and an Associate with Bankable Frontier
  • Nachiket Mor, Chairman, CARE India and board Member, Reserve Bank of India Central
  • Jonathan Morduch, professor of public policy and economics at New York University and co-author of Portfolios of the Poor
  • Elisabeth Rhyne, Managing Director, Center for Financial Inclusion
  • Daniel Rozas, Microfinance Consultant
  • Stuart Rutherford, Founder of SafeSave and Co-author of Portfolios of the Poor
  • Nicole Stubbs, Co-founder and Director of First Access
  • Graham Wright, Group Managing Director at MicroSave

If you feel there is someone missing from the list, there is still time to submit a nomination!  To do so:

After the nominations have been compiled, we will open up voting. One lucky nominator and one lucky voter will be randomly chosen to win a $50 Amazon gift card.  Good luck!

Blog Tabs